MIT Media Lab Server Latest to Be Hacked And Submitted For Comment Spam
23 09 2007UPDATE: Thankfully, the MIT Media Lab’s Vision & Modeling Group’s server has taken down the hacked pages. When will the rest of these websites do the right thing?
One of the burdens of being an international software mogul is the comment spammers that attempt to pollute my brilliant commentary with their garbage.
I can deal with the fact that there are vampires out there that prey on the weakness and absent-mindedness of others. But shouldn’t the folks running MIT be smart enough to secure their own servers? Like, perform some rudimentary check for exploitable devices and compromised systems?
Since I won’t link directly to the pages the comment spammer wanted to place in a comment to my blog, You’ll have to figure out how to go directly to this page yourself: http://vismod.media.mit.edu at page /people/health/bakhtear/@top/viagra/order-viagra.html. If you do a search on the text following the @, you’ll see a few other sites hacked by this ass.
While Geoff Pado and I were inspecting the exotic URL and attempting to decipher how the strange ‘@’ would be processed by a server, and which server was actually responsible for this monstrosity, Gus Mueller used curl to determine it was actually stored on The MIT Media Lab’s server for the defunct Vision and Modeling group.
Other hacked websites whose URLs have been posted on my site:
http://www.gatlinburgeducation.org at page /custom/css/
http://www.silvergalleon.com at page /custom/css/
http://www.hayloftonline.com at page /custom/css/
http://www.vinosbrewpub.com at page /buy_ats/Client_carts/css/
http://www.dhowardpottery.com at page /custom/css/
http://tecpapers.com at /css
http://www.sandboxsoftware.com at page /new/css/
http://www.dallasavionics.com at page /tkm/css/
http://ukindustrialtapes.co.uk at page /new/ice/
http://redstonemedia.com at page /invoice/icq/
http://kartingnortheast.com at page /e-news/new/
http://thequadruscentre.co.uk at page /pdf_files/pdf/
http://freemancateringbutchers.co.uk at page /images/gif/
http://aldg.co.uk at page at page /Connections/ip/
http://initialimages.co.uk at page /images/sr/
http://learntotile.co.uk at page /images/twu/
http://www.dupeyrou.ch at page /css/
http://weardock.co.uk at page /guestbook/res/
http://personalgiftsuk.co.uk at page /sanddancer/bat/
http://sq-one.co.uk at page /news/wqs/
http://advertisingready.com at page /css/
http://adsenseready.com at page /css/
http://asylum-gameservers.com at page /epass/card/
http://www.cerrone.net at page /txt/bin/
http://www.sthelenahospital.org at page /info/css/
I’ve not provided the markup to actually link to these sites so the search engines don’t think I’m linking to them, although they may actually follow the text in that case, and so I don’t get considered as an affiliate of these bozos.
Three other hacked sites that the perpatrators spammed me with have since taken down the offending pages. Let’s hope they’re more secure and that this helps to shame the laggards into shaping up. But seeing as how they haven’t corrected their lapses after my emails, I don’t think this will fare any better.
Categories : rant, security






